I Wonder……. Full Stop or Question Mark?

Should I use a full stop or a question mark when a sentence begins with ‘I wonder’? (K. Sameer, Pune)

During the various phases of our life, we wonder about many things. When we are in school, we wonder if we will do well in the coming exams. Once we graduate, we wonder if we will get a good job. The fact that I have not ended the two preceding sentences with a question mark answers your question about ‘I wonder’, doesn’t it? Books on grammar and usage suggest that any sentence beginning with ‘I wonder’ is a statement, and not a question – and being a statement, it should end with a full stop or a period, and not a question mark. The problem is, however, when you ask someone, ‘I wonder if you could help me’, you are in a roundabout or an indirect way asking him a question – as to whether he can help you or not. Such questions are called indirect questions, and they never end with a question mark.

I wonder if I should have ice cream for dessert.

I wonder if Sudesh will recognize me after all these years.

Appeared in the Hindu on 28 June 2021.

Leave a comment